County of San Luis Obispo Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board

2156 Sierra Way, Suite A San Luis Obispo, CA 93401



Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB)

Monday, October 1, 2018 5:00pm

LOCATION: SLO County Farm Bureau 4875 Morabito Place, SLO

1. 5:00pm Call to order, introductions, quorum determination Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

2. 5:05pm Open comment: (for items not on the agenda) Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

3. 5:10pm Review/approval of August 2018 meeting minutes Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

4. 5:15pm Updates/possible action: ALAB Members – Organizational updates

5. 5:25pm Review/possible action: ALAB Governance *ALAB membership updates

6. 5:30 pm Announcements from County Ag Department staff: "Reports from the Trenches":
*November ALAB meeting location
*Updates to Asian Citrus Pysllid regulations/HLB status update
*Cannabis Cultivation and Hemp Cultivation updates

7. 5:40 pm Review/possible action: **Presentation:** Potential Amendments to County Code as Applicable to Expanding Cannabis Manufacturing in Agricultural Lands (AG) Jay Johnson, San Luis Obispo County Department of Planning & Building

8. 6:20 pm Review/possible action: Presentation: Water Resources Advisory Committee (WRAC) Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Additional County Water Conservation Measures Discussion Andy Pease, WRAC Chairperson and Linda Chipping, WRAC Member

9. 6:50 Future agenda items/meeting dates, adjournment Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

ALL TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

MEMBERS: Please contact Marc Lea at the County Dept. of Agriculture at 805.781.5907 if you can NOT attend.

Scope of the Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB):

The ALAB is advisory in nature and is recognized as a forum for discussion of matters that relate to local agriculture and land use or as directed by the County Board of Supervisors. ALAB members serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors. Meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas, minutes and supplemental handouts for agenda items can be accessed at www.slocounty.ca.gov/agcomm or at the County Department of Agriculture – 2156 Sierra Way, Suite A, San Luis Obispo during County business hours.

<u>Positions/Members/Terms</u> CHAIR: Jean-Pierre Wolff VICE CHAIR: Dan Rodrigues

District One: Peschong Appt. Craig Pritchard (1/21)

District Two: Gibson Appt. Lisen Bonnier (1/19)

District Three: Hill Appt. Tom Ikeda (1/21)

District Four: Compton Appt. Greg France (1/19)

District Five: Arnold Appt. vacant (1/21)

Ag. Finance Rep. Mark Pearce (8/22)

Cattlemen Rep. Dick Nock

Coastal San Luis RCD Rep. Jean-Pierre Wolff (8/22)

Direct Marketing/Organic Rep. Jutta Thoerner (4/20)

Environmental Rep. vacant

Farm Bureau Rep. R. Don Warden

Nursery Rep. David Pruitt (4/20)

Upper Salinas-Las Tablas RCD Rep. Charles Pritchard (1/18)

Vegetable Rep. Claire Wineman (4/20)

Wine Grape Rep. Dan Rodrigues (4/20)

Strawberry Rep. vacant

County Agricultural Commissioner Marty Settevendemie *Ex-Officio* U.C. Coop. Extension, Farm Advisor Mark Battany