County of San Luis Obispo Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board

2156 Sierra Way, Suite A San Luis Obispo, CA 93401



Monday, December 3, 2018 5:00pm

Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB)

LOCATION: UCCE Auditorium 2156 Sierra Way, SLO

1. 5:00pm Call to order, introductions, quorum determination Chair Wolff

2. 5:05pm Open comment: (for items not on the agenda) Chair Wolff

3. 5:10pm Review/approval of August and October 2018 meeting minutes Chair Wolff

4. 5:15pm Updates/possible action: ALAB Members - Organizational updates

5. 5:25pm Review/possible action: ALAB Governance *ALAB membership updates *Proposed ALAB 2019 Meeting Schedule

6. 5:30 pm Review/possible action: Presentation: Irrigated Lands Regulatory Program – Update on Ag Order 4.0 Chris Rose, Central Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board

7. 5:50 pm Review/possible action: Presentation: Funding Opportunities for Agricultural Water Conservation Practices Kylie Hensley and Kip Morais, San Luis Obispo County Department of Planning & Building

8. 6:10 pm Review/possible action: **Discussion:** Ag Related Updates *Cannabis cultivation in SLO County and potential impacts to conventional growers *Hemp Cultivation in SLO County and California *Updates to Asian Citrus Pysllid regulations/HLB status update *Current status on updating the County's Agricultural Worker Housing ordinance

9. 6:40 Future agenda items/meeting dates, adjournment Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

ALL TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

MEMBERS: Please contact Marc Lea at the County Dept. of Agriculture at 805.781.5907 if you can NOT attend.

Scope of the Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB):

The ALAB is advisory in nature and is recognized as a forum for discussion of matters that relate to local agriculture and land use or as directed by the County Board of Supervisors. ALAB members serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors. Meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas, minutes and supplemental handouts for agenda items can be accessed at www.slocounty.ca.gov/agcomm or at the County Department of Agriculture – 2156 Sierra Way, Suite A, San Luis Obispo during County business hours.

Positions/Members/Terms CHAIR: Jean-Pierre Wolff VICE CHAIR: Dan Rodrigues

District One: Peschong Appt. Craig Pritchard (1/21) District Two: Gibson Appt.

Lisen Bonnier (1/19)

District Three: Hill Appt. Tom Ikeda (1/21)

District Four: Compton Appt. Greg France (1/19)

District Five: Arnold Appt. vacant (1/21)

Ag. Finance Rep. Mark Pearce (8/22)

Cattlemen Rep. Dick Nock

Coastal San Luis RCD Rep. Jean-Pierre Wolff (8/22)

Direct Marketing/Organic Rep. Jutta Thoerner (4/20)

Environmental Rep. Krista Burke (1/19)

Farm Bureau Rep. R. Don Warden

Nursery Rep. David Pruitt (4/20)

Upper Salinas-Las Tablas RCD Rep. Charles Pritchard (1/18)

Vegetable Rep. Claire Wineman (4/20)

Wine Grape Rep. Dan Rodrigues (4/20)

Strawberry Rep. vacant

County Agricultural Commissioner Marty Settevendemie Ex-Officio U.C. Coop. Extension, Farm Advisor Mark Battany