Groundwater Sustainability Commission Regular Meeting Minutes (Approved) December 12, 2018

The following members or alternates were present:

Mark Zimmer, Vice Chairperson, GSWC Dennis Fernandez, Member, ERMWC/VRMWC Andy Pease, Member, City of San Luis Obispo Adam Hill, Member, County of San Luis Obispo George Donati, Alternate Member, EVGMWC

1.	Call to Order	Vice Chair, Mark Zimmer, calls the meeting to order at 3:35 PM				
2.	Roll Call	City Staff, Aaron Floyd, calls roll. Chairperson, Bob Schiebelhut absent.				
3.	Pledge of Allegiance	Member, Pease, leads the Pledge of Allegiance				
4.	Public Comment – Items not on Agenda	Vice Chairperson Zimmer opens the floor for public comment on items not on the Agenda.				
		 Carrie Mattingly, City Staff, announced her upcoming retirement as the Utilities Director for the City of San Luis Obispo, effective December 28, 2018. 				
		A representative from a local automation company left contact information with the Commission.				
5.	Approval of Meeting Minutes	Member Pease motioned to approve the Regular Meeting minutes from June 13, 2018 and the Special Meeting minutes from July 26, 2018, and Member Hill seconded the motion.				
6.	Overview of SGMA Compliance Efforts in the San Luis Obispo Valley Groundwater Basin	County Staff, Carolyn Berg: Provided a brief overview of the key milestones and progress made towards SGMA compliance in the SLO Basin and applauded the group on their progress to date. Vice Chairperson Zimmer: opens the floor for public comment				
	Dasin	None				
7.	Discussion on the Formation of a Stakeholder Advisory Committee	City/County Staff Aaron Floyd and Dick Tzou: Provided a presentation on the potential formation of a stakeholder advisory committee for the Groundwater Sustainability Commission. They recommended that the Commission designate one or two members to work with City and County staff to develop the structure and formation process for the stakeholder advisory committee.				
		Various Commission members posed questions about the formation and function of a stakeholder advisory committee. By unanimous consensus, the commission appointed Commission Members Andy Pease and Dennis Fernandez to serve as representatives on the working group. City/County staff was tasked with further defining the roles of the Advisory Committee.				
		Vice Chairperson Zimmer: opens the floor for public comment				

Groundwater Sustainability Commission Regular Meeting Minutes (Approved) December 12, 2018

		• None						
8.	Status Update on the Request for Proposal for the Groundwater Sustainability Plan (GSP)	City/County Staff Aaron Floyd and Dick Tzou; Alternate Member Toby Moore: Provided a status update on the Request for Proposals solicitation. The RFP solicitation period ended November 2, 2018 and one proposal was received. The consultant team was interviewed and deemed to be well qualified for the GSP work so the County is currently negotiating a contract.						
		Vice Chairperson Zimmer: opens the floor for public comment						
		A member of the public wanted to know if the Request for Proposals was listed on the County's website.						
9.	Future Items	Vice Chairperson Zimmer:						
		 GSP development kick-off with GSP Consultant Further discussions on the formation of a Stakeholder Advisory Committee Informal presentation by Cal Poly students regarding geophysics technologies to supplement groundwater basin characteristics Next regular meeting on March 13, 2018 						
10	Motion By: Mark Zimmer Second By: Dennis Fernandez Motion: The Commission moves to adjourn the meeting at 4:24 PM							
		Members	Ayes	Noes	Abstain	Recuse		
		Mark Zimmer (Vice Chairperson)	X					
		Dennis Fernandez (Member)	X					
		Andy Pease (Member)	X					
		Adam Hill (Member)	X					
		George Donati (Alternate Member) X						

DRAFTED BY: City Staff: Megan Wilbanks