

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health



EDMUND G. BROWN JR. Governor

## **ON-SITE MEDICAL WASTE TREATMENT PERMIT**

- PERMIT NUMBER: P-294 (Renewal)
- NAME OF FACILITY: San Luis Obispo County Public Health Laboratory 2191 Johnson Avenue San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
- APPLICANT: San Luis Obispo County Public Health Laboratory 2191 Johnson Avenue San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
- EFFECTIVE DATE: December 19, 2018
- EXPIRATION DATE: December 18, 2023

Pursuant to Section 118130 of the California Health & Safety Code, the abovenamed facility is issued a Medical Waste On-Site Treatment Permit. The issuance of this permit is subject to the conditions set forth on the following page.

alis Walney

Alison F. Dabney, Chief Medical Waste Management Program



San Luis Obispo County Public Health Lab Onsite Treatment Permit Page 2

## **PERMIT CONDITIONS**

## **Onsite Medical Treatment Permit**

The San Luis Obispo County Public Health Laboratory (the "Permittee") shall operate the San Luis Obispo County Public Health Laboratory (the "Facility") in compliance with the following conditions:

- 1. Comply with all applicable provisions of the Medical Waste Management Act (Section 117600 et. seq., California Health & Safety Code).
- 2. Comply with all applicable provisions of the California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 4, Environmental Health, Chapter 21, Minimum Standards for Permitting Medical Waste Facilities.
- 3. Operate the facility in conformance with all provisions and specifications of the Medical Waste Management Plan and the operations information provided with the permit application.
- 4. Comply with all federal, state, and local laws pertaining to the operation of an autoclave for the treatment of medical waste.
- 5. Apply to the Department for approval prior to making modifications to the operations of the facility, including the use of additional or replacement treatment equipment. The facility is approved to use two steam sterilizer autoclaves (Steris/AMSCO Model 3011) for the onsite treatment as stated in the facility's Medical Waste Management Plan.
- 6. The permittee shall report any noncompliance with the Medical Waste Management Act or unusual occurrences which may endanger health, safety, or environment. This notification shall be provided verbally within 24 hours from the time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. A written report shall be provided within five days of the time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. This report shall satisfy the requirements of Sections 65623 (j) (2), (3), and (l) (1) and (2) of Title 22, California Code of Regulations.
- 7. Permittee shall notify the Department, within 24 hours of downtime for maintenance or repairs, if the time will exceed that set forth in the Operations Plan.

--End of Conditions--