2025 AFFIDAVIT FOR 4 PERCENT ASSESSMENT OF CERTAIN VESSELS

To receive the full benefit of the reduced assessment, file this affidavit with the Assessor by **February 15** If the affidavit is filed between February 16 and August 1, 80% of the reduced assessment is available.

2025

Office of Tom J. Bordonaro, Jr. San Luis Obispo County Assessor

1055 Monterey Street, Suite D360 San Luis Obispo, CA 93408 Telephone (805) 781-5643 Fax: (805) 781-5641 Email: Assessor@co.slo.ca.us Website: slocounty.ca.gov/assessor

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS (Make necessary corrections to the printed name and mailing address.)

NA	ME OF	APPLICANT (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL)		ASSESSOR'S PARCEL/ASSESSMENT NUMBER		
CO	RPORA	TION, PARTNERSHIP, DBA				
ADI	DRESS		CITY		STATE	ZIP
		Check and complete the follo	owing, as applicat	ble:		
1.		The applicant or organization is the owner of a vessel that is documented by the United States Coast Guard. Vessel name: Port of documentation:				
		Documented Vessel Number				
		OR				
2.		The applicant or organization is the owner of a vessel that is registered by the California Department of Motor Vehicles. CF number:				
		AND				
Th	e ves	sel is engaged or employed <u>exclusively</u> in one or more of the follo	wing activities:			
3.		Taking and possession of fish or other living resource of the sea for commercial purposes.				
4.		Instruction or research studies as an oceanographic research vessel. Attach evidence of official classification by United States Department of Homeland Security or Coast Guard, and attach a contract, statement, or agreement from a recognized college, university government agency, private foundation, or organization outlining the nature of research and time duration.				
5.		Carrying or transporting seven or more people for hire for commercial passenger fishing purposes, and holds a current certificate of inspection issued by the United States Coast Guard (<i>attach a copy</i>). A vessel shall not be deemed to be engaged or employed in activities other than the carrying or transporting of seven or more persons for hire for commercial passenger fishing purposes by reason of that vessel being used occasionally for dive, tour, or whale-watching purposes. For purposes of this subdivision, <i>occasionally</i> means 15 percent or less of the total operating time logged for the immediately preceding assessment year.				
6.		Vas the vessel used for any other activity during the preceding calendar year? 🗌 Yes 🗌 No If Yes, describe the activity and number f days used in this activity.				
lf it	tems	3 or 5 are checked, provide the Fish & Game Boat Number:				
		CERTIFICA				

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perju including any accompanying statement	ry under the laws of the State of California that the fo s or documents, is true, correct and complete to the b	regoing and all information hereon, best of my knowledge and belief.					
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT	TITLE	DATE					
Whom should we con	tact during normal business hours for additior	nal information?					
NAME							
E-MAIL ADDRESS	DAYTIME TELEPHONE						
		()					

GENERAL INFORMATION

Revenue and Taxation Code section 227 states: "A documented vessel, as defined in Section 130, shall be assessed at 4 percent of its full cash value only if the vessel is engaged or employed exclusively in any of the following:

- (a) In the taking and possession of fish or other living resource of the sea for commercial purposes.
- (b) In instruction or research studies as an oceanographic research vessel.
- (c) In carrying or transporting seven or more people for hire for commercial passenger fishing purposes and holds a current certificate of inspection issued by the United States Coast Guard.

A vessel shall not be deemed to be engaged or employed in activities other than the carrying or transporting of seven or more persons for hire for commercial passenger fishing purposes by reason of that vessel being used occasionally for dive, tour, or whale watching purposes. For purposes of this subdivision, 'occasionally' means 15 percent or less of the total operating time logged for the immediate preceding assessment year.

Revenue and Taxation Code section 275.5 states: "If a person claiming classification of a vessel as a documented vessel eligible for assessment under Section 227 fails to file the affidavit required by Section 254 by 5 p.m. on February 15 of the calendar year in which the fiscal year begins, but files that affidavit on or before the following August 1, the assessment shall be reduced in a sum equal to 80 percent of the reduction that would have been allowed had the affidavit been timely filed."