
COUNTY HEALTH OFFICER ORDER FOR THE CONTROL OF COVID-19: 

ORDER TO ISOLATE 

Date of Order: November 28, 2022 
This Order supersedes the April 21, 2022 Order to Isolate. 

 
 
Any person with COVID-19, regardless of the severity of their symptoms (none, mild, or 
severe) or vaccination status (unvaccinated, partially vaccinated, fully vaccinated, or up to 
date with vaccination), may place the health of other vulnerable individuals at significant 
risk. To control the spread of this highly contagious disease, protect vulnerable individuals 
from severe disease, and prevent the healthcare system in San Luis Obispo County from 
being overwhelmed, it is necessary for the County of San Luis Obispo Health Officer to 
require the self-isolation of any person in San Luis Obispo County with COVID-19.   
 

UNDER THE AUTHORITY OF THE CALIFORNIA HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE SECTIONS, 
101040, 120130, 120175, 120215, 120220, AND 120225 THE HEALTH OFFICER OF THE 

COUNTY OF SAN LUIS OBISPO HEREBY ORDERS: 
 
1. Definitions. 

• “Person with COVID-19” means a person who has tested positive for the virus that 
causes COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2) or has been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 by a 
healthcare provider, or there is a very high likelihood that the person has COVID-19 
based on symptoms and known exposure, but they have not been tested or 
evaluated by a healthcare provider who has provided an alternative diagnosis. 

 
2. Isolation Requirements.  

Any Person with COVID-19 in San Luis Obispo County must isolate themselves 
and follow all Isolation Requirements in this Order. 

a. Isolate at home or at another residence.  

b. Do not leave isolation except to get necessary medical care. 

c. Do not have any visitors.  

d. Wear a well-fitted mask or respirator for a total of 10 days when around others, 
both indoors and outdoors.  

e. If living with others, separate from other people in the home as much as possible. 
Avoid sharing rooms, common spaces, and bathrooms as much as possible.  

f. Complete duration of isolation as instructed below. 
 



3. Duration of Isolation. 

a. Isolate for at least 5-10 days and wear a well-fitted mask or respirator when around 
others for all 10 days.  

o Day 1 of isolation is the first full day after symptoms began or, if the person 
never developed symptoms, day 1 of isolation is the first full day after the 
positive test was taken.  

b. Isolation can end after 5 full days IF: 

o No fever for the last 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medicine; 
AND 

o No symptoms are present, or symptoms are improving; AND 

o COVID-19 test taken on day 5 or later of isolation is negative. 

 Antigen test is preferred for the day 5 follow-up test. 

c. If unable to test or choosing not to test on day 5 or later, isolation can end after 10 
full days IF: 

o No fever for the last 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medicine; 
AND 

o No symptoms are present, or symptoms are improving. 
 
 
LEGAL AUTHORITY 
 
The Health Officer of the County of San Luis Obispo hereby issues this Order under the   
authority of the California Health and Safety Code sections, 101040, 120130, 120175, 
120215, 120220, and 120225. 
 
Violation of, or failure to comply with, this Order is a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment, fine, or both (California Health and Safety Code sections 120275 and 
120295). This Order may be enforced by any law enforcement officer within an area subject 
to their jurisdiction for the purpose of preventing the spread of a contagious, infectious, or 
communicable disease (California Government Code sections 26602 and 41601, and 
California Health and Safety Code section 101029). 
 
All State orders and guidance documents referenced in State orders are complementary to 
this Order. By way of this Order, the Health Officer adopts such directives as orders as well. 
Where a conflict exists between a local order and any State public health order related to 
the COVID-19 pandemic, the most restrictive provision controls pursuant to, and consistent 
with, California Health and Safety Code §131080. 
 



Copies of this Order shall promptly be: (1) posted on all outside public access doors of the 
new County Government Center of the County of San Luis Obispo at 1055 Monterey Street 
in the City of San Luis Obispo; (2) made available via SLOPublicHealth.org/COVID-19 and (3) 
provided to any member of the public upon request of a copy of this Order. 
 
If any provision of this Order or its application to any person or circumstance is held to be 
invalid, the remainder of the Order, including the application of such part or provision to 
other persons or circumstances, shall not be affected and shall continue in full force and 
effect. To this end, the provisions of this Order are severable. 
 
This Order shall become effective Monday, November 28, 2022, at 5:00 p.m. and will 
continue to be in effect until it is extended, rescinded, superseded, or amended in writing 
by the Health Officer. 
 
IT IS SO ORDERED. 

 
November 28, 2022 1:00 pm 

 

Penny Borenstein, MD, MPH Date  Time  
Health Officer, County of San Luis Obispo 
 


